top of page

Football Season is over in the Sparks house...


It has been an awesome couple months since my last blog! My wife and I welcome Gunner Dean into the world and he is perfect. Eden loves him and is a great big sister! I finished and received my diploma for my MBA and was accepted into a Healthcare Administration certificate program through the University of Cincinnati. The only letdown has been football. The college football playoff committee showed their SEC bias and gave the nod to the clearly inferior team over the Buckeyes, the Bengals make me sad and the Packers continue to let Rodgers get hurt. So let's look at my thoughts on the season and revisit my horrible predictions for the season.

Where to even start with the Bengals? The highlight of their season has been having the coolest sister-in-law ever cheer for them on the sidelines. This is probably one of the most talented teams ever to have such a bad season and in my opinion it starts with a failed gamble. They let Whit and Zeitler walk with the hope that they made the right draft picks with Fisher and Big O. They were wrong. Neither has developed. Fans are calling for Dalton's head, but he hasn't had more than a step or two to throw the whole season and you can't run without an o-line. That's where it starts. The team hasn't been able to replace the creative offensive mind of Hue Jackson and it shows.

Before I get into how bad my preseason NFL predictions were, I want to talk about what I want to happen and what I think will happen this offseason.

What I want to happen:

  1. Move on from Marvin.

  2. I will always love and acknowledge what marvin did for this team, but it has been time to move on for a couple years. They shouldn't have let Zimmer leave and instead made him the coach and moved MArvin to the front office. However, they missed their chance. He is definitely a good coach, but there is a bitter taste now. Too much talent and the same old problems. This team is still very talented and a culture change could turn it around quickly like the Rams this year. I want someone new. I personally want a guy like Brian Kelly or David Shaw from college or an NFL guy like McDaniels, Patricia, Shurmur (Minn OC), or Haley from Pitt. Shurmur might be the best fit because he has AFCN experience and is doing great things in Minn.

  3. Don't give up on Andy. 

  4. He is an above average quarterback and when given protection has MVP ability like 2015. If one of the top guys drops to pick 7 or 8 in the first and they feel they need to take him, then let Andy mentor the kid for a year and see what happens. Good QBs are hard to come by and we have one.

  5. Be active in free agency.

  6. There are several O-linemen available this year that would be an immediate fix to the offense. Eifert's injury means he can be re-signed for cheaper. We can't just wait for the last wave of signings like we normally do.

  7. Give the new coach control.

  8. When Marvin got control the team improved. When a front office has too much control over decisions, looking at you Browns, it can be disastrous. Let the new coach make the decisions. If he wants to move on from Andy and draft a guy, let him. 

What I think will happen:

  1. Hire from within.

  2. They will hire a guy like Guenther or Simmons instead of going after someone who can change the culture.

  3. Trade back.

  4. I think they will have a shot for a top QB in the draft, but will trade the spot. I'm not too upset with this idea, but they need to make sure they get protection regardless of who the QB will be.

  5. Be cheap.

  6. Coach, FAs, etc. I think we will lose people due to Brown's tight wallet.

I love the Bengals and I'm hopeful there will be some big changes this season. I want Andy to be the guy, but drafting a Darnold, Rosen, Mayfield, Allen, or Jackson could be a great get. So we will see. Now to the funny stuff...

  1. I missed on the Jets. They have been just good enough to ruin their chance at a top QB in the draft.

  2. I missed on the raiders winning the division, but could still be right on two West teams making the playoffs.

  3. Baltimore was better than I thought, but still bad and I was off on my Bengals.

  4. I did not see the Jags coming! The Texans surprised me and gave Watson a shot early and looked incredible before the injury. Titans are underperforming, but might make the playoffs.

  5. Holy cow did I miss on the Bucs. Jameis was my MVP pick and he has been sad.

  6. I missed on the Packers because of the Rodgers injury.

  7. I definitely missed on the Giants. Had them at 11-5, but I was right on the Cowboys being worse than before.

  8. Might be right on Bosa for DPOY, didn't see Kamara coming.

  9. Bucs and Skins won't be the NFC championship, so that was wrong.

  10. Pats will likely beat the Steelers instead of the Raiders.

  11. I actually believe my pick of the Pats for the Super Bowl is wrong and could see the Vikings bringing it home.

Here's to next season. Who Dey!


bottom of page